Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 14 of 14

Alpha Delta Gamma Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.055
Scope and Contents

This collection contains announcements, correspondence, programs, financial records, clippings, and bylaws for Alpha Delta Gamma, an honorary society for the Medieval and Renaissance Studies program at the College of William and Mary. Included in the accession are the bylaws for the organization; programs from the induction ceremonies; membership lists; a history of the organization at the College; and correspondence pertaining to the founding of the organization.

Dates: 1993-2012
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...
Dates: 1968-1982
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry Eastman Bennett Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.005
Scope and Contents

This collection contains copies of speeches and papers written by William and Mary faculty member Henry Eastman Bennett; royalty statements and contracts for books written by Bennett; correspondence; designs for chairs and desks and plans for starting a desk-making company.

Dates: 1907-1936; Majority of material found in 1907-1927
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Dromgoole Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D83
Scope and Contents Correspondence, accounts,(including accounts, 1875-1895, of laborers ?) and manuscript volumes, primarily 1850-1890, of members of the Dromgoole family of Brunswick County, Virginia. The majority of the papers seemingly were created by Edward Dromgoole, fl. 1838-1897, a merchant and lawyer in Brunswick Co. There are also some items relating to George Coke Dromgoole (1797-1847), a member of the U. S. House of Representatives, as well as items concerning other people who are only identified as...
Dates: 1821-1896; Majority of material found in 1850-1890
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Galt Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates: 1745-1892
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...
Dates: 1736-1982; Majority of material found in 1840-1930
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Channing M. Hall III Williamsburg, Virginia Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1999.19a and Additions
Scope and Contents

The collection includes personal as well as offical papers of Channing M. Hall III of Williamsburg. Hall was a member of the Williamsburg City Council and most of the collection concerns the government of the Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1996-2004
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lawrence I'Anson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 85 Ia6
Scope and Contents

Papers, circa 1938-1983, of Lawrence I'Anson, lawyer and justice of the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals. Includes correspondence, invitations, programs, speeches, judicial opinions, certificates, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, photographs and scrapbooks.

Dates: 1938-1983
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert E. Lee Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 L52
Scope and Contents

Letter, 4 May 1861, to Robert E. Lee from T. Rowland of Fairfax County, Va. desiring a commission with the Virginia forces, bearing endorsement of Lee. Includes printed material regarding Lee, such as his farewell address to the Army of Northern Virginia, his will, and  photographs and engravings of Lee.

Dates: 1829-1937
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert Nelson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 N34
Scope and Contents Correspondence, sermons, essays and accounts of Robert Nelson, Protestant Episcopal missionary to Shanghai, China. The collection Includes two account books, a lettercopy book, and articles written by Nelson as well as two manuscript Chinese-English dictionaries compiled by Nelson. Some items, such as a "Count of Missionaries and Staff in China, 1807-1874" illuminate the history of missionaries in China. There is one letter written to Nelson in which the writer has used Wade-Giles...
Dates: 1845-1897; Majority of material found in 1845-1885
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

A. Willis Robertson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 R54
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...
Dates: 1921-1971, 1988; Majority of material found in 1946-1966
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Munford Tuck Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...
Dates: 1918-1968
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert H. Tucker Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 68 T795
Scope and Contents

Papers; 1923-1957; of Robert H. Tucker, professor of economics at Washington and Lee University, who served on Virginia Commission on County Government and the Virginia Commission on State and Local Government. Includes articles, speeches, lectures, reports and other writings concerning Virginia state and local government, tax reform, education, highways, economics, and Washington and Lee University. Most of the material is undated.

Dates: 1923-1957
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tyler Family Papers, Group A

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates: 1716-1946
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Speeches X
  • Subject: Financial records X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Financial records 13
Speeches 7
Speeches, addresses, etc. 7
Legal documents 5
Photographs 5
∨ more
Agendas (administrative records) 4
Receipts (financial records) 4
United States--Politics and Government 4
Account books 3
Certificates 3
Clippings (information artifacts) 3
Reports 3
Virginia--History--20th century 3
Virginia--Politics and Government 3
Communism--Post 1945 2
Diaries 2
Invoices 2
Letter books 2
Minutes 2
Poems 2
Publications 2
Scrapbooks 2
Technical reports 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 2
Agriculture--United States 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Animal welfare--United States 1
Banks and banking--United States--History 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Bylaws 1
Cabinet photographs 1
Capital punishment--Virginia 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Civil service--United States 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Communism--United States 1
Daybooks 1
Design drawings 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Education--Study and teaching 1
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Energy policy--Virginia 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Episcopal Church--Clergy 1
Episcopal Church--History--19th century 1
Essays 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fish trade--Virginia 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Fundraising campaigns 1
Furniture making--Virginia 1
Genealogical tables 1
Genealogy 1
Greeting cards 1
Indians of North America 1
Intergovernmental fiscal relations--United States 1
Invitations 1
Japan--Description and travel 1
Judges--Virginia--History 1
Laboratory notebooks 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Brunswick County 1
Lawyers--Virginia--History 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898--Pictorial works 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Manuscripts for publication 1
Maps 1
Marriage certificates 1
Mentally ill--Care 1
Merchants--Virginia--Brunswick County 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Missionaries--United States--19th century 1
Missions, American--China--19th century 1
Missions--China--19th century 1
National parks and reserves--Law and legislation 1
National parks and reserves--United States 1
National parks and reserves--Virginia 1
Newport News (Va.)--History 1
Newspapers 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Pamphlets 1
Patronage, Political--United States--History 1
Petitions 1
Postcards 1
Practice of law--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Press releases 1
Prison sentences--United States 1
Programs 1
Protestant churches--Missions--19th century 1
Public welfare--Virginia--History 1
Report cards 1
Resolutions (administrative records) 1
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Segregation in education--Virginia 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
Chinese 1
Latin 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 4
United States Congress 3
Virginia State Senate 3
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Galt family 2
∨ more
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 2
Alpha Delta Gamma 1
Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Carrington family 1
College of William and Mary. Medieval and Renaissance Studies Program 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Dromgoole family 1
Dromgoole, Edward Jr., d. ca. 1848 1
Dromgoole, Edward, 1838-1897 1
Dromgoole, Edward, Jr., d. ca. 1848 1
Dromgoole, Edward, fl., 1838-1897 1
Dromgoole, George Coke, 1797-1847 1
Dromgoole, W. E 1
Dromgoole, W. E. 1
Eastern Publishing Co 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Ellis, Pearl Tyler, 1860-1947 1
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 1
Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 1
Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 1
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 1
Galt, Rogers Harrison 1
Garland family 1
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 1
Greenia, George D. 1
Grigsby family 1
Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- 1
Lee, Robert E., 1807-1870 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company 1
Republican Party (U.S.) 1
Robb, Charles S. 1
Semple, James 1
Semple, Letitia Tyler, 1821-1907 1
Spencer, Julia Gardiner Tyler, 1849-1871 1
Tuck, William Munford 1
Tucker, Robert H. 1
Tyler Family 1
Tyler family 1
Tyler, David Gardiner, 1846-1927 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 1
Tyler, Julia Gardiner, 1820-1889 1
Tyler, Lachlan, 1851-1902 1
Tyler, Letitia Christian, 1790-1842 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
Tyler, Robert Fitzwater, 1856-1927 1
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 1
Tyler, Tazewell, 1830-1874 1
United States. Navy. Office of the Paymaster 1
Virginia House of Delegates 1
Virginia. Supreme Court of Appeals 1
Walsingham Academy (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
+ ∧ less